Ash at CIID

Ashwin Rajan's blog while at the Copenhagen Institute of Interaction Design.

“Welcome to the cloud, Ash! How are you feeling?”

with one comment

I have been using Ubiquity from Mozilla Labs for just a few days now, and I must say I was an avowed fan from the word go! But to run Ubiquity I had to choose to dedicate my web browsing to the Firefox browser – so Layer one: download and install firefox. Layer two: install the Ubiquity extension for Firefox. I have been enjoying the nifty little tool’s limited by truly special capabilities for some days post Layer two. The ‘highlight and translate text’ is only one of those spot-on features for me (the country I live in and a lot of the web content I get interested in doesn’t use English.) And so this morning I tried something new on Ubiquity – I pressed Control A, highlighting all the content on a (German?) web page I had reached, and hit ‘translate’. This is the message I got:

Ubiquity error

A transparent message? Hmmm… Nope I don’t get it, but I am looking up ‘Growl!’ now (whatever that is), to see what it can do. That’s Layer 3.

Message on the Growl! home page:

What does Growl do?
Growl lets Mac OS X applications unintrusively tell you when things happen. To see it in action, see our About page.

“Unintrusively tell you when things happen” – I have no idea what that means, but I like they way they put it!

Point being, the more we want to get done, the deeper we go into the ‘cloud’: utilities that work with other, nested, utilities, which in turn connect and bounce off and run on the rails of still more utilities. With Level three and beyond, the deep interconnectedness of these nebulous objects offers pointed implications for both the potentials and the perils of being in the cloud.

The term ‘Cloud computing’, by the way, it turns out, refers to the IT infrastructural aspect of the thing.

Oh, and it doesn’t look like Growl! has anything to do with fixing the initial bug on Ubiquity. Of course, the problem was I chose all content on a page (text, images, links everything) at one go and hit ‘translate’ – a nonsense action for the types of content selected. But the response was – get Growl! I wonder why it said that? Go figure …

Written by Ashwin Rajan

December 22, 2008 at 11:46 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey,

    Just wanted to let you know about Flock Social browser.. its built on the same platform as Firefox, so it pretty much has the same feel and behavior.

    If you are an avid online social networker then Flock has more layers and behaviors that you can exploit.

    Ubiquity works like a charm on it.. 🙂

    ps: I swtiched to Flock a long whiles ago.. not sure why, but am finding it hard to migrate to Google Chrome, I really want to, but it has no Ubiquity support yet! sigh

    sid

    January 14, 2009 at 10:44 am


Leave a Reply

